Pizza Cafe at The Grand – Mildura, Victoria, Australia

Our first night in Mildura and I look forward to checking out the local eateries. For a regional centre the town has a reputation for some excellent dining. However, I need to bear in mind that we need to choose a place where not only I but also Xavier, aged 4, will be happy.

Patience and appetites are wearing thin as we have spent the better part of the day getting from Melbourne to Mildura. So after a dip in the pool we get dressed and head into town.

We head straight for Langtree Avenue, affectionately known as “feast street” and home to The Grand Hotel and the famous Stefano’s.

I do for a second consider Stefano’s but as it is peak holiday season, we have no booking, and I suspect its a little too on the “fine” side of “fine dining”. I somewhat reluctantly give it a miss and head for the Pizza Cafe at The Grand instead.

Serving Pizza, pasta and salad, the restaurant is busy, casual and inviting. The waitress is attentive and Xavier is soon provided with a glass of coloured pencils with which to draw on the paper “tablecloths”. We order our drinks and wait to be served.

Mr X asks for a “sausage pizza”, that is a salami pizza, from the children’s menu and I request the “pumpkina” which features tomato sauce, mozzarella, roasted pumpkin, baby spinach, roasted capsicum and goat’s cheese.

The food takes some time to arrive so we knock back a Rose and an apple juice to fill the time. When the food finally arrives, only one pizza is brought to the table. The servings are huge so I’m glad I ordered the small rather than the large. Unfortunately they did not place Xavier’s order. This is going to be interesting I thought. The little guy is hungry – but hates pumpkin. Oh well, no time like the present to change that. With some trepidation I serve him a wedge of mine… and wait, in anticipation, for what I fear may be a less than complimentary reception.

Well, I needn’t have worried. “Yum, Mum – this is really good.” So I serve him another wedge, and another, and another… until the entire pizza has disappeared (okay – so I helped him out a bit).

Tempting as it is to berate the place for not bringing my son his meal, they did manage to get him to not only eat, but also enjoy, pumpkin for the first time ever. Plus when the incomplete order was pointed out the staff was helpful and patient.

The Rose I order is supremely quaffable and although the restaurant does have the feeling of a rather large dining hall, this is tempered by the vines and wall art which give it a very convivial ambience.

All up, despite the debacle, I’d certainly visit again. The food tastes good, the prices are reasonable and the staff helpful and attentive. Most importantly, Mr X was fed and happy which meant that I too could enjoy my meal. Smiles all round!

What: Pizza Cafe at The Grand
Where: The Grand Hotel, Langtree Avenue, Mildura, Victoria, Australia
When: Open for lunch and dinner
How much: $15-$25, Kids meals are around $10
Website: http://www.pizzacafe.com.au

20130112-013759.jpg

20130112-013848.jpg

20130112-013905.jpg

20130112-014019.jpg

20130112-014048.jpg

20130112-014102.jpg

20130112-014135.jpg

20130112-014200.jpg

20130112-014216.jpg

20130112-014242.jpg

20130112-014259.jpg

20130112-014315.jpg

20130112-014338.jpg

3 responses to “Pizza Cafe at The Grand – Mildura, Victoria, Australia

  1. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few
    of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I
    think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I
    should check things out. I like what I see so now i am following
    you. Look forward to going over your web page repeatedly.

Leave a comment